Why I love reading David Walliams to my class (5 Reasons Why #1)

I like to spice up my blog content to keep things fresh so recently thought about doing a 5 reasons why post every now and then with a topic of my choice.

First up are reasons why I love reading David Walliams to my class. My current class (20 week days left with them… 😦 ) are between 7-9 years old.

This school year we have read:

  1. They make them laugh out loud. David Walliams is funny.
  2. His stories (particularly The World’s Worst Children) have inspired some fantastic writing (and drawing!)
  3. The children genuinely enjoy his writing.
  4. It’s a logical step up from Roald Dahl. Walliams writes in a similar style.
  5. Lots of his stories have heart. Quite often they carry with them a lovely message. When we read Gangsta Granny recently it particularly touched one child who had gone through a similar thing (no spoilers) with her grandparent. The story brought tears to her eyes!
Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

