Blood Sisters

Blood Sisters

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Penguin UK

Previously reviewed by the same author:
My Husband’s Wife

Synopsis:

Three little girls set off to school one sunny May morning.
Within an hour, one of them is dead.

Fifteen years later, Alison and Kitty are living separate lives. Kitty lives in a care home. She can’t speak, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here, or her life before it.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it – this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.
Someone who wants revenge for what happened that day.
And only another life will do…

Thoughts:

After reading Jane Corry’s debut My Husband’s Wife, I was intrigued to read her next book. I was thrilled to get the opportunity to read Blood Sisters, which I found just as gripping as Jane’s debut.

Blood Sisters is told in dual narration from two sisters. They are half sisters and since childhood have not got on at all. An accident tears the sisters apart even more. Their lives become very different afterwards. One sister is left with a severe brain injury and the other sister is able to move on in her life although in very different directions than she first anticipated. There are secrets hidden from the accident and they’re not safe… the truth will out, eventually!

I enjoy reading stories where there’s sibling rivalries almost as much as I like reading about siblings that do get on. I thought this was an intriguing story because one of the sister’s severe disability. If you’re a regularly reader to my blog, you’ll know that I love diverse books and every type of person being represented, therefore I was super happy to read about a disabled character. I feel like Jane Corry must have researched brain injuries thoroughly in order to give such a detailed and what felt like a very realistic portrayal in this story. I was interested in reading both perspectives, I also really enjoyed how the narration switched from past to present tense.

I do think this book has some slower moments, which is why I didn’t rate it any higher than I did. Sometimes, I desperately wanted to know what was going to happen! It keeps you turning the pages and I think is a decent read for anyone into the thriller genre!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A page-turner of a thriller!

4 thoughts on “Blood Sisters

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

