Waking In Time

Waking in time

How did I get it?:
I received it as a gift as part of my Mr B’s subscription!

Synopsis:

Falling through time and falling in love – neither is simple. Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and shaken by her mysterious, dying request to “find the baby”, Abbi has arrived at uni to start her first year. But on her second day, she wakes up to a different world: 1983. That is just the first stop on Abbi’s journey backwards through time. Will is a charming student from 1927 who travels forwards through time. When Abbi and Will meet in the middle, love adds another complication to their lives. Communicating across time through a buried time capsule, they try to decode the mystery of their travel, find the lost baby and plead with their champion, a kindly physics tutor, to help them find each other again … even though the tutor gets younger each time Abbi meets him. This page-turning story full of romance, twists and delightful details about uni life then and now will stay with readers long after the book’s satisfying end.

Thoughts:

I have to admit, I didn’t know anything about this book prior to it arriving at my house! I’m pleased it was picked for me though as I thought it really was a hidden gem. I first thought it was going to be a New Adult romance book (don’t judge a book by its cover, people!) however, it was much more than that. It’s got time travel, mystery and romance. I was pleasantly surprised by this book.

It centres around a young woman named Abbi, she’s arrived at university to start her first year. Abbi has recently lost her grandmother who attended the same university. Abbi doesn’t expect to wake up to a different world. Each time she wakes up in the morning, Abbi finds herself trying to unravel a mystery surrounding her late grandmother. She’s determined to stick with a guy from her past as well, things aren’t easy for Abbi but she’s determined to sort out her future!

I really enjoyed the character of Abbi. I immediately connected to her. I loved her relationship with her grandmother and how she was determined to sort out her grandmother’s mystery. It was super interesting to see the different time periods through her eyes. Abbi’s relationships between Will and Professor Smith were just heartwarming.

I was gripped by the story. I wanted to know if Abbi would solve the mystery and how each character was linked. This book really was a pleasant surprise. I’m glad that it was picked for me!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A surprise! I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did!

2 thoughts on “Waking In Time

  1. I absolutely love this cover and the plot looks really good as well! I’m going to add this to my tbr 🙂 I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

