Why you should still read picture books to older children! (5 Reasons Why #2)

For this feature, I like to explore a certain topic and list my reasons why or why I don’t support the topic in question. This time, I’d like to talk about picture books!

It seems that a lot of parents want to push children on to chapter books ASAP. I don’t know if it’s because they think their children are more proficient when they’re on chapter books. I would like to say that there’s still a time and a place for picture books for children up to the age of 12 and some beyond that!

Here are my reasons why I love reading picture books to older children!

  1. Some picture books have incredibly complex sentence structure and rich vocabulary.
  2. The illustrations can encourage conversation and allow children to find something new each time.
  3. Pictures can stimulate the imagination much more than a chapter book. They give children with little imagination an idea. They can paint a picture in the child’s mind.
  4. There are so many more picture books out now for older children. Don’t be put off by books aimed at younger children. There are some fabulously rich text picture books out there now for them.
  5. Pictures books can encourage fantastic conversation.

Here are just two ideas of picture books for older children:

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish

7 thoughts on “Why you should still read picture books to older children! (5 Reasons Why #2)

  1. I love the kind of chapter books that still have a picture on every other page or so! I feel like these are great for reading aloud. In my (limited) experience with older kids, they start seeing regular picture books as “too baby”, which is why I love illustrated chapter books. Bunnicula is a favorite.

  2. Thanks! Gives me something to think about as my 6-year-old flies through chapter books… might not be a bad idea to sit with her and read some picture books!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

