Ten Gems In Mental Health Literature

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a hidden gems list. Now, these books aren’t so much hidden, but I decided they needed some airing on my blog this week because they are gems. I love reading books that centre around mental health/illness and think they’re worth airing even if some of them are quite popular!

Click on the book image to get to the Goodreads page for the book! 🙂

The Silver Linings Playbook- Matthew Quick

The Silver Linings Playbook

This book is told in such a unique voice. I think this book is much deeper than the film. I enjoyed Matthew Quick’s portrayal of Pat.

Lighter Than My Shadow- Katie Green

Lighter Than My Shadow

This is a hefty book. It’s huge and it’s quite heavy going in its nature. It’s about Katie’s struggle with an eating disorder.

Am I Normal Yet?- Holly Bourne

Am I Normal Yet? (The Spinster Club, #1)

I absolutely adored this book. Holly Bourne is such a beautiful writer and she represented mental illness wonderfully. This is such an addictive YA read.

Reasons To Stay Alive- Matt Haig

Reasons to Stay Alive

I adore Matt Haig’s raw honesty in this book. There are some dark moments, but this book is hopeful.

My Heart and Other Black Holes- Jasmine Warga

My Heart and Other Black Holes

There are some incredibly poignant moments and memorable sections in this book. I found it incredibly powerful to read.

Belzhar- Meg Wolitzer

Belzhar

I really enjoyed this book despite it having quite mixed reviews. It’s unique and wonderfully written.

Perfect Escape- Jennifer Brown

Perfect Escape

I enjoyed reading this book which centres around a girl experiencing her brother’s problems with OCD. It was interesting to read about the impact it can have on a family member.

The Shock Of The Fall- Nathan Filer

The Shock of the Fall

This book doesn’t hold back when exploring mental illness. It’s such an intense, powerful read.

Undone- Cat Clarke

Undone

This book was so moving. It’s ending actually put a lump in my throat.

Highly Illogical Behaviour- John Corey Whaley

Highly Illogical Behavior

This book was absolutely stunning. I was blown away by the writing. I shall definitely be reading more from John Corey Whaley.

What are your hidden gems this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

56 thoughts on “Ten Gems In Mental Health Literature

  1. I loved Belzhar (I happen to love Woltizer), and have many of these on my TBR. One I have been dying to read is Am I Normal Yet. Two recent standouts for me were How to Disappear (anxiety disorder) and The Art of Feeling (depression). Great list!

  2. Reasons to Stay Alive is just the best. I like it because the author doesn’t judge youand whatever he says, he knows because he has been through it.

    Have to check the other ones out! Great list and well picked topic!

  3. I think Perfect Escape is the only Jennifer Brown book I haven’t read!! I LOVEEEE her books, so I will definitely read that one at some point. Also, Silver Linings Playbook!! But I liked the movie better. And OMG Belzar!! It made me so mad!! But also, I see the MH value in it– but UGHHHHHH!!!

  4. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed The Shock of the Fall. My Heart and other black holes has been on my tbr for a while I’ve just not had the chance to read it yet haha.

  5. Great topic to focus in on. I had My Heart and Other Black Holes in my hands today actually but ended up not going for it. I rarely read outside of fantasy. But I’ll keep it in mind for next time I feel like reading out of my comfort zone. I did hear great things about it at the time it came out.

  6. I adore My Heart and Other Black Holes, I think it’s an incredible book. Also love Silver Linings Playbook, Am I Normal Yet? and Belzhar, so definitely adding your other picks to my TBR list. Thanks 😀

  7. Pingback: This Week’s Appreciation #19 – Perspective of a Writer

  8. Hi, Chrissi! I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but I have heard great things about several of them. I hope to read a few down the road. Especially My Heart and Other Black Holes. Thank you for sharing! I hope you are enjoying your weekend!

  9. Pingback: Around the Blog #7: death to summer & the power of books – My Paper Infinity

  10. I kept meaning to rent ‘Silver’ but always seem to forget the film was first a book. 🙂 Also, “Belzhar” was super hyped when it came out, so that was one that at one time I thought about picking up… and then, never did.

    Thanks, as always, for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi.

  11. There are so many of these I haven’t read so thanks for sharing! Reasons to Stay Alive was amazing 🙂 What’s your favourite one? My blog is myanxietymatters.wordpress.com 🙂 hoping to review a book I’m reading on there soon 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

