A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher-Hello again, Year 2!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Year 2 (6-7 year olds). My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

Six weeks went by really quickly! This week, I started back at school. Back again to Year 2, which are children aged 6-7 years old. I’m not going to lie, it’s not my favourite age group, but out of the younger infant children I prefer to teach the 6-7 year olds. I don’t know how I’d even teach a 4 year old well! I don’t think I could! I spent Monday and Tuesday this week getting ready (things still aren’t done nearly a week on… oops!) and then the children came in on Wednesday.

My first impressions of my new class (my third class!) is that they’re adorable, bright (in the main part) and willing to learn. They’re super enthusiastic which is very cute. If I could just get them to stop patting me… ha! It’s one of my biggest bug bears.

We’ve already completed some writing and some maths and they work quietly. This is a massive change from last year when I was with the 7-9 year olds. They couldn’t stop chattering! My new bunch of children start of chatty but then settle without having to be told 4 times. I could get used to this!

My favourite moment of the 3 days with my new class came from teaching Science. It was a fairly practical lesson and they had a whale of a time. They totally learnt what they were supposed to as well. Win win!

So whilst I’m still missing junior teaching, I’m happy with this new class and hope we’ll have an amazing year!

9 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher-Hello again, Year 2!

  1. I feel like I might still be teaching if I had done elementary ed. I taught chemistry and physics and HS kids are just mean. I was more of a PO than a teacher. Your class sounds wonderful, and I hope you continue to collect these lovely memories.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

