Top Ten Books That I Want My Nephew To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is all about books we’d want our children/future children/niece/nephews to read! So here are mine…

My nephew is almost 6 and I can’t wait for him to get to the age where he might read/hear these books. All of these books I either loved as a child or read to my current class who are 6/7 years old!

The BFG- Roald Dahl

The BFG

I absolutely adore this book. I think he would love it too. He’d love the whizzpoppers!

George’s Marvellous Medicine- Roald Dahl

George's Marvellous Medicine

Loved this book. It’s always my first class book with Year 2. I hope he wouldn’t get ideas to make a medicine for his Gran!

The Witches- Roald Dahl

The Witches

This one would scare him at the moment, but I hope he eventually gets to read it!

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory- Roald Dahl

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)

The World’s Worst Children and World’s Worst Children 2- David Walliams

The World's Worst Children

I have a feeling he’d love some of these disgusting tales!

The Invention Of Hugo Cabret- Brian Selznick

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Definitely for when he’s older! 🙂 I think he’d love this mixture of pictures and words!

The Demon Headmaster- Gillian Cross

The Demon Headmaster (Demon Headmaster, #1)

Such a classic from my childhood. I’d love him to read this one day.

Goodnight Mister Tom- Michelle Magorian

Goodnight Mister Tom

Another classic. My current school reads this with 10-11 year olds. It’s such a fantastic book.

The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas- John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Again, this book wouldn’t be suitable right now, but years down the line it will be. I feel its educative too. Can’t escape the teacher in me.

What did you post this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

57 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That I Want My Nephew To Read

  1. Love that you’ve mentioned so many books for little boys. I was struggling to come up with good “boy-suggestions” when I was writing my post. But I might just come back and have a look at your list again for inspiration. So thanks! 🙂 Plus. I love all the Roald Dahl books. Haven’t read many of them, but will certainly catch up 🙂

  2. I love Roald Dahl. Such great books.
    I’ve never read Goodnight Mister Tom but I have seen a TV adaptation which was good. I should pick up a copy and see whether the adaptation was faithful to the book.
    Lynn 😀

  3. You can never go wrong with a Roald Dahl book. My brother is a primary teacher and the number of times he’s read his books to the class is ridiculous haha

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

