Top Ten Bookish Resolutions For 2018

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January 2018. It’s all about love of lists, love of literature and bringing bookish people together. This week is Jana’s first week of hosting this weekly meme and I’d like to thank her for hosting it! I love reading everyone’s lists and putting my own together. 

This week’s list is all about bookish resolutions and goals for the coming year.

  1. Keep up to date with my ARCs!- Try not to request too many to help with this…

  2. Read more debut authors- Catch up on 2017 releases and then work on 2018.

  3. Reread Harry Potter. I never have time to reread so I want to change that this year. This one will be hard as I have so many others that I need to read so I have trouble with rereads!

  4. Reread Me Before You, it’s a favourite and I want to see if it is after a re-read!

  5. Continue to collaborate with Beth on Banned Books, Kid-Lit and our ‘Talking About’ feature.

  6. Make more time to read to my class. I was so good at this during the first two years of my teaching career, but I seem to have stalled this year.

  7. Schedule posts! I used to be very good at being on top of things but again, got a little slack recently. I know how much I like having my blog organised, so 2018 is the year to get back to my organised self.

  8. Continue to cull my book collection. I’m quite good at giving books to charity if I know I’m not going to read them again. I only keep my absolute favourites.

  9. Work on completing some series that I have pending!- I want to finish The Remnant Chronicles!

  10. Read more graphic novels. I read a few in 2017 and really enjoy them!

What are your bookish resolutions this year? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll come and have a look!

Advertisements

Love, Hate & Other Filters

Love, Hate & Other Filters

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Hot Key Books/Bonnier

Synopsis:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Thoughts:

I have heard so much about this book over the past few months. I wanted to read it because I knew it was an important story for the author. One of my best friends is Muslim and Islamophobia is something that I feel very, very strongly about. This book wasn’t quite the amazing read that I wanted it to be. It was incredibly powerful at points and heart-breaking at times.

It centres around Maya who is torn between two paths. There’s the path in which her parents want her to be the good Indian daughter, get a respectable job and marry a suitable Muslim boy and the path where she wants to follow her dreams and go to NYU to study film and pursue a guy that she’s interested in. Alongside Maya’s confusion, there’s a horrific crime. Her peers, neighbours and community become consumed with fear and hatred. She experiences Islamophobia. Maya has to find her way in a world that seems to hate her and parents that are determined for her to be a certain way.

Maya came across as a teen very well. Apart from the mention of being Muslim, I don’t feel like she had much of a Muslim identity. I don’t know if that was intentional by the author- making her seem like all her peers. It was just something I observed.

I really enjoyed reading a story from a different voice. I do think I expected more about Islamophobia and I got more about the romance. Don’t get me wrong, it was good to read. I enjoyed Maya as a character and thought her romance was very sweet. I liked how this book had important messages about not judging those on their race and religion. Maya and her parents were often discriminated against, even though they’d been in the community for a while, they weren’t fully accepted due to their religion which is infuriating.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A fabulous debut about love but also sadly, hate!

A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Lots of fun outdoors!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Year 2 (6-7 year olds). My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week was the first full week back at school after only 2 days last week. It was an unexpectedly outdoors-y week which was lovely. I like taking the children outside of the classroom even if it is cold/wet/miserable. I think it’s great for everyone to get out of the classroom environment. They spend so many hours in the same room that it’s not always the most inspiring.

We went out into the village to do some sketching and then the next day spent some time outside in our forest area making habitats for animals to live in during our Science time. It was so much fun and I had such a great time stepping back and watching how engaged the children were with their learning. It makes me proud that we’re a primary school that don’t just focus on the English and Maths and that we recognise the importance of other subjects. I don’t mean to get on my soap box, but so many schools in my local area and across the country are panicking about standards of English and Maths for testing in Year 2 and Year 6. A lot of schools are repeating English and Maths in the afternoon if the children don’t meet their learning objectives. I never want to work in a school like that.

I feel like I’ve got so much admin-y bits that I need to do next week, so it might not be so fun. However, it’s been a lovely reminder of what I love about my school.

Stacking The Shelves #181

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

Book images go to Goodreads!

Bought:

Here We Are Now

I absolutely loved Jasmine’s debut novel, so I’m intrigued to read this one!

I Believe in a Thing Called Love

I have heard so many wonderful things about this book. I can’t help but think of The Darkness song when I read this title.

Turtles All the Way Down

I’m so nervous about reading this book because I’m not the biggest John Green fan. However, I’m always willing to give an author another go, so I’ll try read this one soon.

What have you added to your shelves this week? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your posts! 🙂

Fairy Tale Friday- Anne Lisbeth

This week’s fairy tale is all about a girl named Anne Lisbeth. This girl has a child that she doesn’t want. She pays someone who digs ditches to care for the child. Such a lovely lady! (Not!) Anne Lisbeth somehow manages to get a job looking after the Count’s baby. Anne Lisbeth marries a rich man. Meanwhile Anne’s son is all grown up. He goes out to sea and unfortunately dies. I don’t know if Anne has a guilty conscience or something, but she hallucinates about his ghost wanting to be buried. Anne goes completely mad, but eventually finds redemption. She believes when she goes to dies, she’ll go to heaven. Or perhaps it was wishful thinking!

Next Fairy Tale- Beautiful

Watching Edie

Watching Edie

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

Thoughts:

I remember seeing this book in a bookshop in Bath a few years back. I finally got my hands on a copy. I was really expecting to be blown away by this book but for me, it was a decent read but not one that will stay with me for a long time.

Watching Edie is an interesting story using before and after to tell its tale. One tale is narrated by Edie and the other Heather. It opens with Edie answering the door to Heather. They were good friends in school, but a terrible event tore them apart. They hadn’t seen each other in years although Edie always had Heather on her mind. As soon as they reunite, you’re made to feel quite uncomfortable. There’s a lot of tension. Edie turns out to be pregnant and Heather steps in to help her when Edie suffers after the birth. All through the period of Heather ‘helping’ Edie, I felt uncomfortable. Edie begins to become suspicious of Heather. She’s not sure why she’s turned up after all this time and their past.

This is a tale of obsession and uncertainty. It makes you feel uncomfortable. The author cleverly makes you think one thing and then throws a curveball when you find out the truth. I don’t want to say anything more as I don’t want to ruin it for others. Let’s just say there’s more to this story than first meets the eye!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Not my favourite psychological thriller but a good read!

This Week In Books #93

I am joining in with the lovely Lipsy from Lipsy’s Lost and Found’s feature which highlights our week in books. I shall be sharing what I’m reading now, then and next! I won’t be showcasing my new books as I do that on a Saturday. I’m really excited by this feature as I loved sharing my recent reads. My book reviews published on my blog are often WAY behind what I’m actually reading, so this is a good feature to keep you up to date!

Book images go to Goodreads!

The Girlfriend Literally Eliza and Her Monsters

NOW– The Girlfriend- Michelle Frances- I’ve heard good things about this thriller. I’m intrigued!

THENLiterallyLucy Keating– This is a very unique read! I wasn’t expecting it to be like it was! Hopefully I’ll have my review out in a week or so!

NEXT- Eliza and Her MonstersFrancesca Zappia– I am trying to not let the hype monster get me with this book. I’ve heard good things but I’m trying not to get my hopes up.

What are you reading this week? Let me know or leave a link to a similar post that you do!