Falling Into Place

18163646

How did I get it?:
Received from Harper 360 in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Thoughts:

I had heard so much about Falling Into Place,  so I was incredibly excited to get my hands on a copy.  The synopsis describes this book as haunting and I completely agree. I thought it was thought provoking and incredibly well written.

Falling Into Place is the story of Liz Emerson who has decided that the world would be better without her. It jumps around in time before Liz makes the decision to run her car off the road and in present time when Liz’s friends are hoping that she’ll pull through. I have to admit, this story is quite heavy going because of its subject matter. However, the writing is just so beautiful that it’s not a chore to get past these deep issues embedded in the story. I’m certainly excited to see where Amy Zhang takes her writing next!

I’ve mentioned countless times on this blog that I’m not always the biggest fan of books that jump around in time. Sometimes they just make the story feel jolted, but for me, Amy Zhang cleverly made this narrative work. Falling Into Place is narrated by an incredibly mysterious narrator. It makes you wonder who is telling you the story.

I wouldn’t say that this story is particularly fast paced, but at the same time I couldn’t put it down. The chapters were short, so it was easy to devour. I think it’s the characters in Falling Into Place which make the story so intriguing. They’re developed so well, even those characters which aren’t necessarily easy to like.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Falling Into Place is a deep, intriguing read about the consequences of our actions. Highly recommended if you like unusual narrations!

WWW Wednesday #89

WWW Wednesdays is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Click on the image to get to her blog!

WWW Wednesdays is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Click on the image to get to her blog!

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! To participate in WWW Wednesday, you need to answer three questions.

•What are you currently reading?
•What did you recently finish reading?
•What do you think you’ll read next?

Click on the book cover to get to the Goodread’s page for the book.

What are you currently reading?

20757521

I’m halfway through Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander. It’s not what I expected it to be…

What did you recently finish reading?

18163646

I have mixed opinions about Amy Zhang’s debut, Falling Into Place. My review should be up within the next week or so!

What do you think you’ll read next?

9627755

I’ve made it my mission to power through some series this month. I’m starting with Isla and The Happily Ever After, which I’m very much looking forward to. My aim is to start it this evening if I can!

So what are you reading this week? Please feel free to answer the questions or leave your link to your posts in the comments! Happy Reading!

 

Stacking The Shelves #87

Click on the image to take you to Tynga's blog to learn more! (Opens in same window)

Click on the image to take you to Tynga’s blog to learn more! (Opens in same window)

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

As ever, click on the book Image to get to the Goodread’s page!

Bought:

18692305

I have heard good things about Hate by Alan Gibbons. I am very intrigued to read it because it’s inspired by a true story.

Received from Harper 360

18163646 18340210

I’ve heard amazing things about Falling Into Place and Anatomy of A Misfit. I’m so excited to read them. I’ve bumped them up my TBR list, so hopefully I’ll get to read them soon. Many thanks to Harper 360 for sending me copies of these books!

Received from Hot Key Books

23005588

I really liked the synopsis for The Perfectionists. It looks great! Thanks to Hot Key Books for sending me a copy!

What have you added to your shelves this week? Please feel free to leave me a link to your posts and I’ll stop by!