Goodbye Rebel Blue

17290286

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Thoughts:

I’ve been so excited to read this book. I have Shelley Coriell’s debut waiting to be read on my shelf, but Goodbye Rebel Blue felt like it was calling to me to pick it off the shelf. 😉 I was very much impressed with Shelley’s writing, but I think I expected a bit more from Goodbye Rebel Blue. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a good read. It just wasn’t a unique, stand out read for me.

Goodbye Rebel Blue is about the rebel girl figuring out who she really is. Rebel Blue meets Kennedy Green in detention. They are told to spend their time writing bucket lists. At the end of detention, they through their bucket lists away and go their separate ways. Unfortunately, Kennedy is in an accident that night, and dies. Rebel decides to carry out Kennedy’s bucket list in honour of her. The only trouble is, Kennedy was a completely different person to Rebel. Kennedy was a ‘do-gooder’. Whilst carrying out Kennedy’s items on the bucket list, Rebel finds herself changing who she is.

I thought Goodbye Rebel Blue had some good characters that are developed well throughout. It might not be very believable that Rebel carried out Kennedy’s list in a few months when those are wishes of a lifetime, but the book doesn’t suffer because of this. It’s quick and easy to read. It’s well worth taking a look at.

Would I recommend it?
Yes!

Reading next:
Dead Jealous- Sharon Jones