Countless

Countless

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Bloomsbury

Synopsis:

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

Thoughts:

I find books that centre around mental health really intriguing, so I was eager to get to reading Countless. I thought Countless was an incredibly established debut novel. I couldn’t put it down!

Countless is about Hedda, our main character, who suffers from anorexia. Pretty much from the offset, we find out that Hedda is pregnant. We experience Hedda’s battle with what to do about pregnancy. Hedda decides to keep the baby, but realises that she’ll have to start eating to keep the baby healthy.

Countless isn’t necessarily an easy book to read, but I think it’s an important one. Karen Gregory’s writing really made me sympathise with Hedda. I wanted her to pull through and get better both for her baby and herself. I liked that it wasn’t easy for Hedda. I felt like this made the book incredibly realistic. A person suffering from anorexia doesn’t get better overnight. It’s a battle.

I think that Hedda is a very well written character. I felt that she developed so much throughout the course of the story. She was stubborn and strong-willed, but at the same time determined to do right by her child. The only thing that really bugged me about Hedda was her mother! I understand that it must be incredibly hard to have a child that suffers from anorexia, but her mother’s attitude towards Hedda frustrated me on more than one occasion!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and think it’s such an important read.  I thought that the representation of mental illness was outstanding. It is a painful, emotional but incredibly sensitive read.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic debut with some strong character development!

This Week In Books #61

I am joining in with the lovely Lipsy from Lipsy’s Lost and Found’s feature which highlights our week in books. I shall be sharing what I’m reading now, then and next! I won’t be showcasing my new books as I do that on a Saturday. I’m really excited by this feature as I loved sharing my recent reads. My book reviews published on my blog are often WAY behind what I’m actually reading, so this is a good feature to keep you up to date!

Click on the book to get to Goodreads!

The Sudden Appearance of Hope Habibi Countless

NOWThe Sudden Appearance Of HopeClaire North– I have just started this book which was recommended to me and sent to me as part of my Mr B’s Reading Year Subscription. I’m intrigued to see what I make of it as I wasn’t that blown away by the author’s debut, but I’m always willing to try another book by the author!

THEN- HabibiCraig Thompson– I finished this graphic novel yesterday. It’s a beast of a book at over 600 pages and it’s not necessarily an ‘easy’ read. It tells the story of refugee slaves bound together. There are some incredibly dark moments within the story. Very dark moments. It is one of our Banned Books that my sister and I review on the last Monday of a month, so please come back for our review if you’re interested.

NEXTCountlessKaren Gregory– I’m very intrigued to read this book which centres around mental health. I’m always intrigued by books that touch on this subject.

What are you reading this week? Feel free to leave a link or let me know in the comments below! Happy Reading! 🙂

Stacking The Shelves #160

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

Gift:

The Sudden Appearance of Hope

I received this book as part of my Reading Year from Mr B’s Emporium in Bath! I’ve heard good things about it, so hopefully I’ll like it!

NetGalley:

Letters to the Lost

This book got me with its synopsis. I’m so intrigued by it!

Countless

I have heard fantastic things about this book already. It centres around mental health which is something I am always happy to see represented in literature.

The Pearl Thief

I enjoy Elizabeth Wein’s writing and this book immediately caught my eye! I’m looking forward to it!

What have you added to your shelves this week? Please feel free to leave me a link to your posts and I’ll stop by!