Ten Books I’ve Struggled To Get Through

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is all about books that we’ve had a hard time with in one way or another. Now, I know some of these books are popular, they just didn’t work for me. I have nothing against the authors that’s for sure and would definitely read different books for them. No hate!

Click on the book image to get to the Goodreads page for the book! I hope that you have better luck with these than I did! 🙂

The Pearl Thief- Elizabeth Wein

The Pearl Thief (Code Name Verity #0.5)

I did read all of this book, but it didn’t grip me as much as Code Name Verity did. It took me a while to become engaged with it.

The Sudden Appearance Of Hope- Claire North

The Sudden Appearance of Hope

It took me a while to get through this book even though the story is fascinating. I think so many people would enjoy it though!

The Girl In The Red Coat- Kate Hamer

The Girl in the Red Coat

Initially, I was gripped by this book, but I lost interest around halfway through.

The Last Days Of Summer- Vanessa Ronan

The Last Days of Summer

I think fans of literary fiction would absolutely love this book. It just wasn’t for me.

The Ballroom- Anna Hope

The Ballroom

I wasn’t excited by the story, but I know others that have loved it!

Life In A Fishbowl- Len Vlahos

Life in a Fishbowl

I didn’t gel with this author’s writing style.

Don’t Look Behind You- Mel Sharratt

Don't Look Behind You (Detective Eden Berrisford, #2)

I found this book okay, but I wasn’t excited by it!

The Cruelty- Scott Bergstrom

The Cruelty

It took me a while to read this one despite its promising premise.

Uprooted- Naomi Novik

Uprooted

I was a little disappointed by this book. I think my expectations were too high.

Unravelling- Elizabeth Norris

Unraveling (Unraveling, #1)

I wasn’t drawn into this story at all!

Have you read any of these and had an opposite experience? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by.

Advertisements

The Ones That Got Away #10

cooltext1691231440

This feature is going to showcase some recent reads that I haven’t fully reviewed. This may be because I didn’t finish the book or that I didn’t have enough to say to warrant a full and fair review of a book that I’m sure others will absolutely adore. I figure this way the books will be highlighted and someone somewhere might find the right book for them!

(BOOK IMAGES GO TO GOODREADS)

The Ballroom- Anna Hope

The Ballroom

Synopsis:

1911: Inside an asylum at the edge of the Yorkshire moors,
where men and women are kept apart
by high walls and barred windows,
there is a ballroom vast and beautiful.
For one bright evening every week
they come together
and dance.
When John and Ella meet
It is a dance that will change
two lives forever.

Set over the heatwave summer of 1911, the end of the Edwardian era, THE BALLROOM is a historical love story. It tells a page-turning tale of dangerous obsession, of madness and sanity, and of who gets to decide which is which.

imageLife In A Fishbowl- Len Vlahos

Life in a Fishbowl

Synopsis:

Fifteen-year-old Jackie Stone is a prisoner in her own house. Everything she says and does 24/7 is being taped and broadcast to every television in America. Why? Because her dad is dying of a brain tumor and he has auctioned his life on eBay to the highest bidder: a ruthless TV reality show executive at ATN.

Gone is her mom’s attention and cooking and parent-teacher conferences. Gone is her sister’s trust ever since she’s been dazzled by the cameras and new-found infamy. Gone is her privacy. Gone is the whole family’s dignity as ATN twists their words and makes a public mockery of their lives on Life and Death. But most of all, Jackie fears that one day very soon her father will just be . . . gone. Armed only with her ingenuity and the power of the internet, Jackie is determined to end the show and reclaim all of their lives, even in death.  

image-1

Don’t Look Behind You- Mel Sharratt

Don't Look Behind You (Detective Eden Berrisford, #2)

Synopsis:

She got into bed but sleep didn’t come easily. Every creak in the house made her alert. She was waiting for him to come and get her.

The small city of Stockleigh is in shock as three women are brutally attacked within days of each other. Are they random acts of violence or is there a link between the victims? For Detective Eden Berrisford, it’s her most chilling case yet.

The investigation leads Eden to cross paths with Carla, a woman trying to rebuild her life after her marriage to a cruel and abusive man ended in unimaginable tragedy. Her husband Ryan was imprisoned for his crimes but, now he’s out and coming for her.

As Eden starts to close in on the attacker, she also puts herself in grave danger. Can she stop him before he strikes again? And can Carla, terrified for her life, save herself – before the past wreaks a terrible revenge?

The Cruelty- Scott Bergstrom

The Cruelty

Synopsis:

The Cruelty is the first book from a groundbreaking new YA voice: an utterly compelling thriller.

When Gwendolyn Bloom realizes that her father has been kidnapped, she has to take matters into her own hands. She traces him from New York City across the dark underbelly of Europe, taking on a new identity to survive in a world of brutal criminal masterminds. As she slowly leaves behind her schoolgirl self, she realizes that she must learn the terrifying truth about herself. To overcome the cruelty she encounters, she must also embrace it.

Uprooted- Naomi Novik

Uprooted

Synopsis:

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose. Uprooted is a hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales by Naomi Novik, the author of the Temeraire series. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

Have you read any of these books? Did you feel differently? Feel free to let me know!