Top Ten Quick Reads To Devour On The Beach!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a summer freebie. I decided to go with some of my favourite quick reads which are perfect to read on the beach or in your garden/the park this summer!

As ever, book images go to Goodreads!

Unboxed- Non Pratt

Unboxed

I’ve recently read this book and absolutely devoured it in one sitting. It’s a great story about friendship.

The Summer I Found You- Jolene Perry

The Summer I Found You

I adore this book. It’s a deeper read than the cover may suggest.

George- Alex Gino

George

Another fabulous quick read. Alex Gino’s voice is incredibly authentic!

The Madness- Alison Rattle

The Madness

I love this story which is set on the coast. Alison Rattle is a terrific writer!

Magic Under Glass- Jaclyn Dolamore

Magic Under Glass (Magic Under, #1)

I adore this fairy tale-easque read! It didn’t take me long to devour!

Golden- Jessi Kirby

Golden

I loved this book and I found it to be utterly quotable. It’s a beautiful story and the cover definitely gives me summer vibes.

One Italian Summer- Keris Stainton

One Italian Summer

So easy to read. It’s a little deeper than your average romance/contemporary read!

A Little Something Different- Sandy Hall

A Little Something Different

I absolutely adored this very unique read!

This Song Will Save Your Life- Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life

This book combines two of my favourite things, music and contemporary!

Twenty Boy Summer- Sarah Ockler

Twenty Boy Summer

I find Sarah Ockler’s books to be perfect beach/summer reads!

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda- Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

I adore Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. It would be perfect for summer reading! I think it’s awesome all year around…

What did you do for your summer freebie this week? Feel free to leave a link and I’ll stop by your post!

Advertisements

A Little Something Different

20801166

How did I get it?:
Netgalley- thanks to Macmillan Children’s Books!

Synopsis:

Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop-culture references, order the same Chinese food and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush it looks like they are never going to work things out.

But somehow, even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative-writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at the local Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Now they just need to realize that they’re meant for each other, and start falling in love . . . This irresistible romance is told by all the people who are willing love to blossom in a unique multi-voice narrative structure. It is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

Thoughts:

A Little Something Different didn’t take long for me to read at all. It is a quirky, sweet book and I can definitely see why it has been recommended for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

A Little Something Different is a little different to the rest of the books out there at the moment. It has lots of points of view, but instead of becoming confusing, I thought it really worked. From Baristas to main characters, from benches to squirrels- A Little Something Different is packed full of different perspectives that I believe all had a place in the story. The reader gets to know about Gabe and Lea who the story is centred around. It was an incredibly cutesy story. Some readers won’t get on with it because of that, but I thought it was charming and refreshing.

This book does read younger than Young Adult. Considering the character’s edge, I expected a bit more depth to the characters, but everything is always kept light. There’s a slice of sadness given what has happened to one of the characters, but it’s never dwelled upon for too long. That’s not necessarily a criticism, many readers including myself, often look for a lighter read in-between heavier books and A Little Something Different is perfect for this.

My only real niggle with this book, was that it started to become a bit repetitive for me considering it is a short read. I felt the romance itself was dragged out. Once you get past that though, it really is a cute read which I’m sure many will devour!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A cutesy, quirky book which won’t take you long to read!

WWW Wednesday #94

WWW Wednesdays is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Click on the image to get to her blog!

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! To participate in WWW Wednesday, you need to answer three questions.

•What are you currently reading?
•What did you recently finish reading?
•What do you think you’ll read next?

Click on the book cover to get to the Goodreads page for the book.

What are you currently reading?

18340210

I’m about 100 pages into Anatomy of A Misfit. I have mixed feelings so far. I’m intrigued to see how it continues. Hopefully I’ll have some time for it tonight!

What did you recently finish reading?

23005588

I will be reviewing this book with Luna from Luna’s Little Library later this month. I haven’t read or seen Pretty Little Liars, so this was my first experience reading Sara Shepard!

What do you think you’ll read next?

20801166

This month I’m trying to get through a back log of review copies. I’ve had a copy of this book for a while now, so I’m looking forward to getting stuck in and crossing another book off the TBR list!

What are you reading this week? Feel free to leave your links or answer the questions in the comments below! Happy Reading! 🙂

 

Stacking The Shelves #85

Click on the image to take you to Tynga's blog to learn more! (Opens in same window)

Click on the image to take you to Tynga’s blog to learn more! (Opens in same window)

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

As ever, click on the book Image to get to the Goodread’s page!

Bought:

20653947186637223057431

Water Born- Rachel Ward– I can’t wait to read the sequel to The Drowning! I love Rachel Ward’s writing and I’m so excited to read this book. I might try to get to it within the next few days. It might be leapfrogging books I already have to read…

LobstersTom Ellen & Lucy Ivison– I have picked this book to read this month. I’m a bit cautious about ‘a socially awkward love story’ but I’ve heard good things about it, so trying to be positive!

The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time IndianSherman Alexie- I’m currently reading this book for part of the Banned Books feature I complete with my blogger sister Beth and good friend Luna.

 NetGalley:

20801166

A Little Something DifferentSandy Hall– I’ve heard good things about this book! I’ve heard that it’s very unique.

So what have you added to your shelves this week? Feel free to leave a link to your haul and I’ll stop by!