Luna’s Picks 2014: The Books Are Now Reviewed!

lunaspciks2

My good friend Luna at Luna’s Little Library recommended some awesome books for me. Each month of 2014 she gave me a selection of choices out of her collection of books. I picked one and then I left it to readers to decide my next read. Here are the books that I reviewed over the year.

January

12458914 6728643

February

1335293610836484

 March

985943620561195

 April

1312167813043239

May

20359867 17696973

May brought me the first book that I didn’t agree with Luna with. That is Riot. Please check out my review if you’re interested in why I didn’t enjoy it as much. You’ll find a link there to Luna’s review so you can read a differing opinion.

June

757576216280557

 July

1805306015726915

August

129629249460487

 September

186637225983694

October

66097488428195

November

17612596 20873172

December

13188003

17290261

As you can see, I had an amazing year with the books Luna recommended! I have found some authors that I will certainly looking out for in the future. Luna’s Picks will return again, but not this year as both Luna and I are incredibly busy! Thanks once again to Luna for providing this wonderful feature for me!

Advertisements

Welcome Caller, This Is Chloe

12962924

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Goodbye Rebel Blue

Synopsis:

Big hearted Chloe Camden is the queen of her universe and loved by all until winter break of her junior year. That’s when her BF shreds her reputation and her school counsellor axes her junior independent study project. Forced to take on a “more meaningful” project in order to pass her junior year, Chloe joins her school’s struggling radio station where she must team up with a group of misfits who don’t find her too queenly. Ostracised by her former BFs, lonely Chloe throws herself into the radio station where she ends up hosting a late night call in show that gets the station much needed publicity and in the end, trouble. She also befriends radio techie and loner Duncan Moore. On and off the air, Chloe faces her loneliness and helps others find the fun and joy in everyday life.

Thoughts:

Welcome Caller, This Is Chloe is a book I picked up at Foyles, (over a year ago- oops!) that Luna said I had to read because it was just a fun, easy read. Me being me, of course picked it up. I don’t need much persuading. I’m terrible! I haven’t got around to reading it yet, because my to be read pile is ridiculous. I decided to pick it for this months Luna’s Picks feature. I’m glad I did, because I’ve read some quite intense books this month so far. I was in need of a lighter read for sure and this book fit that need nicely.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like Chloe at the start. She’s one of those characters that isn’t easy to get on with from the start. I don’t know what it was about her. I just found her a little annoying and shallow. I learned to really like her though. Chloe is a fun character. She finds herself isolated by her two best friends and everyone else at school. Chloe is forced to become involved with the school’s radio station where she met ‘outsiders’. It was when Chloe made friends at the radio station that the reader really began to see some depth to Chloe. She’s quirky and always likes to look on the bright side of every situation.

Although this is mainly a lighter story, it does deal with some serious issues, although they don’t overshadow the story. Chloe’s mother and her Gran are having a feud and Chloe is stuck between them. Chloe’s Gran is also suffering with Parkinson’s Disease, so the reader sees the roles reversed and Chloe caring for her Grandmother. It was lovely to see such a close relationship between grandparent and grandchild. It’s not often that we see grandparents in young adult reads.

I did enjoy reading Welcome Caller, This Is Chloe. It was a decent read to lighten my day and put a smile on my face.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A quick and enjoyable Young Adult read. It definitely put a smile on my face!

Goodbye Rebel Blue

17290286

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Thoughts:

I’ve been so excited to read this book. I have Shelley Coriell’s debut waiting to be read on my shelf, but Goodbye Rebel Blue felt like it was calling to me to pick it off the shelf. 😉 I was very much impressed with Shelley’s writing, but I think I expected a bit more from Goodbye Rebel Blue. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a good read. It just wasn’t a unique, stand out read for me.

Goodbye Rebel Blue is about the rebel girl figuring out who she really is. Rebel Blue meets Kennedy Green in detention. They are told to spend their time writing bucket lists. At the end of detention, they through their bucket lists away and go their separate ways. Unfortunately, Kennedy is in an accident that night, and dies. Rebel decides to carry out Kennedy’s bucket list in honour of her. The only trouble is, Kennedy was a completely different person to Rebel. Kennedy was a ‘do-gooder’. Whilst carrying out Kennedy’s items on the bucket list, Rebel finds herself changing who she is.

I thought Goodbye Rebel Blue had some good characters that are developed well throughout. It might not be very believable that Rebel carried out Kennedy’s list in a few months when those are wishes of a lifetime, but the book doesn’t suffer because of this. It’s quick and easy to read. It’s well worth taking a look at.

Would I recommend it?
Yes!

Reading next:
Dead Jealous- Sharon Jones

Stacking The Shelves #48

Click on the image to take you to Tynga's blog to learn more!

Click on the image to take you to Tynga’s blog to learn more!

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

As ever, click on the book image to get to its Goodread’s page!

I’m really happy with my haul this week!

NetGalley:

12989100 17258743 18168638 18241299 18336825

I had requested books ages ago and they all seemed to be approved at once! Most of these are January releases so I’ll try to get to them soon. Out of this little selection I’m most excited to read Anything To Have You by Paige Harbison.

Bought:

7956260 12578313 12805941 13597696 17290286

I decided to buy these books because I’ve heard great things about them!  I can’t wait to read Goodbye Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell. I’m also excited to read Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown. I’ve loved everything I’ve read from her before.  I’ve also heard great things about Golden by Jessi Kirby and Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland. I’m intrigued by Jenny Han’s series which kicks off with The Summer I Turned Pretty.

Oxford University Press:

17522283 untitled

I am attending an Oxford University Press blogging event at the end of January. They kindly sent me these two books to read before the event!

What have you added to your shelves this week? Please feel free to leave your links!

Stacking The Shelves #30

Click on the image to take you to Tynga's blog to learn more!

Click on the image to take you to Tynga’s blog to learn more!

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves, be it buying or borrowing. From ‘real’ books you’ve purchased, a book you’ve borrowed, a book you’ve been given or an e-book they can all be shared!

As ever, click on the book image to get to its Goodreads page!

I have a HUGE haul this week. This comes from Random House’s blogger brunch, NetGalley, the Amazon kindle sale, my friend Luna lending me books and spending too much time in Foyles. Oops.

BQMJzIlCAAESkcT

This is me simply sitting behind Luna and I’s book haul after spending time in Foyles book shop in London.

So first things first- Random House. To read my account of my time at Random House click HERE

17456967

This book is out now! I’ve finished it and reviewed it already, it’s an incredible read.. review HERE.

16070143

I haven’t read any Lauren Kate before, so I’m intrigued.

17614644

I’m very intrigued about this book. I’ll try to read it soon!

NetGalley:

11940384

I like a crime/thriller read every now and again and this seems like a great choice!

18213013

I’m so excited about this one. I did a little happy dance when I was approved.

18186807

I love Jojo Moyes, she’s one of my auto-buy authors.

Bought in the Amazon Kindle Summer Sale:

16279773

I adore Lindsey Kelk. Her books are so easy to read!

9591398

13538708

These books just look like FUN and they have awesome titles.

Borrowed from Luna’s Library:

403673 6574102 7422080 8685622 9741685

Thanks to Luna for these beauties!

Foyles haul:

7893725 12317877 12962924 13406425 17210540 17741066

A lot of these were recommended by Luna. So if I don’t like them I’ll blame her 😉

Gifts:

16925847

A book from the queen of chick-lit. Don’t mind if I do!

17164399

I’m intrigued by this book!

Phew! So that’s it for this week! Please feel free to leave links to your hauls and I’ll come by and see what you’ve got!