Sisters’ Fate (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #3)

Sisters' Fate (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #3)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Born Wicked
Star Cursed

Synopsis:

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

Thoughts:

I always dread writing final book in the series reviews, because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone that hasn’t started or is midway through the series, so I shall try to bring my thoughts together without spoiling it at all for anyone else!

I have enjoyed The Cahill Witch Chronicles much more than I anticipated. I think it’s a fantastic read. It’s one of those series that it doesn’t matter if you have a gap between reading the books, because you never feel too lost at the beginning of the next book.

Sister’s Fate was a fantastic finale to the trilogy. All too often I am disappointed by final books, but I thought Sister’s Fate was absolutely brilliant. The characters I have grown to love or love to hate are so well developed. I loved catching up with them and seeing how their story was going to progress.  I also really enjoyed how the prophecy played out. The trilogy was well thought out with a good pace which never felt like it lagged.

Jessica Spotswood is a fantastic writer. I loved that she dedicated so much time for the characters and didn’t just throw in new characters for the sake of it. I really felt invested in the characters, even if I didn’t particularly like them.

The Cahill Witch Chronicles is such an easy to read trilogy. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course! 4.5 stars

Perfect for fans of witch stories and prophecies!

Star Cursed (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #2)

Star Cursed (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #2)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Born Wicked

Synopsis:

With the Brotherhood persecuting witches like never before, a divided Sisterhood desperately needs Cate to come into her Prophesied powers. And after Cate’s friend Sachi is arrested for using magic, a war-thirsty Sister offers to help her find answers—if Cate is willing to endanger everyone she loves.

Cate doesn’t want to be a weapon, and she doesn’t want to involve her friends and Finn in the Sisterhood’s schemes. But when Maura and Tess join the Sisterhood, Maura makes it clear that she’ll do whatever it takes to lead the witches to victory. Even if it means sacrifices. Even if it means overthrowing Cate. Even if it means all-out war.

In the highly anticipated sequel to Born Wicked, the Cahill Witch Chronicles continue Cate, Maura and Tess’s quest to find love, protect family, and explore their magic against all odds in an alternate history of New England.

Thoughts:

This book is the second instalment in The Cahill Witch Chronicles which starts with Born Wicked. A book I devoured. I liked it much more than I expected. This book doesn’t suffer from middle book syndrome. It’s awesome.

In Star Cursed we return to New England and the world of witches and prophecies. It’s so full of intrigue, betrayal with a slice of romance on the side. It definitely makes me want to read the last book ASAP and find out how it’s all going to finish! Star Cursed centres arounds Cate again, who is now a member of the Sisterhood. The Sisterhood are a group of witches who are pretending to be nuns in order to disguise their real selves. Cate and her sisters are now reunited and Finn is close by too. Star Cursed involves prophecies, romances, betrayal and friendships. It packs a lot into the book, but it never feels too rushed. The pace is perfect.

Cate is such a fantastic character and I love her relationship with her sister Tess. I also really like Maura, but because she’s a great character to dislike. You know… those characters you love to hate? She’s definitely one of them.

As this is a middle book, I don’t want to say too much and ruin it. I highly recommend you pick up this series though, especially if you’re into witch/prophecy/paranormal reads!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic sequel to a gripping series!

Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #1)

Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship–or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother’s diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe–not even from each other.

Thoughts:

I have to admit, I judged this book by its cover and thought it was going to be a little cheesy. It does have a slice of cheese in places, but I was unexpectedly blown away by this book and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next instalment. Hopefully soon!

Born Wicked is a paranormal read about witches in a time when they are hunted down. They have to pretend to be normal ladies and not draw any attention to their selves. It centres around Cate, who lives with her two sisters and their father. Their mother died, leaving Cate to protect their secret. It involves prophecies which intrigued me greatly and I can’t wait to see what happens next. The world is really intriguing and I loved the mystery of the prophecy, the Brotherhood and the Sisterhood.

I absolutely loved Cate as our main protagonist. I loved how protective she was over her sisters, Maura and Tess. Cate has huge responsibilities to protect her sisters. The girls are all witches, but all have different opinions of their gift. Cate has to make some big choices throughout the story in order to protect the family secret. Cate realises the enormity of decisions about the future. The decision needs to protect her sisters and herself. I thought the sisters were well written as well. Tess is the youngest, but is inquisitive about her powers. Maura is more rebellious. I really liked the fiesty side she had to her character. I thought the relationship between them all was so well written. It was real. There were arguments but there was also a fierce sense of protecting one another.

I think one of the things that prevents me from giving this book five stars, is the lack of parental figures. It was sad that they had lost their mother, but to have their father travelling away as well and not knowing of their gifts… was a great shame. I don’t really know if their father is going to become more relevant in the story, to me it felt like the girls were certainly on their own.

This wouldn’t be a YA book without a love interest and there’s a bit of a triangle going on. I don’t mind a bit of romance in the stories I read, but I can imagine it would frustrate some other readers. Luckily enough, I think one of the characters was an absolute idiot so I wasn’t torn with who Cate should choose. She was also very much into putting her sisters before any guy and that has to be applauded! 😉

I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book!  Highly recommended if you love witchy reads!